Dahn Yoga at the Dahn Yoga Center

Recently I decided to take yoga classes with a friend and when a groupon deal came up that was too good to pass up, we both signed up for 20 classes. This was my first time doing anything like this, so I was glad my friend was going with me. I had a lot of questions about what to bring and how prepared I needed to be, so I wanted to share with you my first experience at the Dahn Yoga Center at the Union Square location.

Attire: There is no formal attire, but I suggest black pants and a white shirt to be concordant with everyone else. There is a changing room.

What to bring: In terms of equipment, no yoga mat is needed. The floors are already padded. If you happen to be carrying a knapsack with your belongings, you can place your things at the back of the room. There are no lockers.

I suggest you bring water and a small snack in case you get hungry after doing Dahn Yoga or you could visit the farmer’s market right across the street.

My Experience:
The place looks exactly like how it is shown on the website (http://www.dahnyoga.com/Union-Square/) and it is really easy to find. The person who signed me in was also my instructor for that class. It was not crowded at all. When class began, we started with tapping our stomachs to warm us up. After that we did various stretching and different movements that helped our bodies feel vibrations. The instructor came around and helped correct some postures.

Dahn Yoga is different from the Indian style. There is a lot of tapping, bouncing and stretching movements. It was different than what I know of yoga, but it was a relaxing experience. After the class, tea was offered and the instructor chatted with us.

I thought overall, it was a nice and pleasant experience.

Leave a Reply

